DUI and DWI in Oklahoma vs California

Drunk driving is a very serious charge. A DUI or DWI conviction can have lasting consequences on your personal and professional life. At The Law Offices of Bradley Corbett we have experience in handling DUI cases in California. The definition of a DUI is the same in both California and Oklahoma. A DUI or DWI is a Driving Under the Influence charge and is measured when your Blood Alcohol Level (BAL or BAC) is at .08% or higher. While the definition is the same across both states, the penalties* are the things that vary widely.

California penalties for an underaged case:

  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
  • Fines up to $1,000
  • License suspension for 1 year

Oklahoma penalties for an underaged case:

  • Loss of driving privileges for 6 months to 2 years
  • Varying amount of fines

California also has the zero tolerance law. This law is exactly what it sounds like – zero tolerance for alcohol for anyone under the age of 21. This can include a Blood Alcohol Level of .01% or higher, or even an open container of alcohol in the car. Potential penalties for breaking the zero tolerance law in California can include: license suspension for a year, criminal charges, DUI school, and hundreds of dollars in fines.

In California you can also be cited if you fail to consent to a chemical test on the suspicion of drunk driving. Whether you’re above 21 years of age or below the consequences are the same. If it’s your first offense of failing to consent you can have your license suspended for one year. If it’s your second offense your license could be suspended for 2 years. Also if you fail to consent to a chemical test and then later are found to be driving under the influence, the severity of the penalties will increase.

If you’ve been charged with a DUI don’t wait to call an experienced lawyer. An experienced DUI lawyer can help get the charges reduced or even dropped in some cases. An experienced DUI lawyer may be able to get the charges reduced to a “wet reckless” which is a less severe charge than a DUI. Whether you’re in Oklahoma or in California you want to make sure that your legal rights are protected and you have the best lawyers on your side.

At The Law Offices of Bradley Corbett our first advice to not getting a DUI is to not drink and drive. However, if you do find yourself in that situation, give us a call and we can help you.
*Note: the penalties can vary depending on the severity of each case. These are just a general rule of thumb but can change depending on the circumstances involved in each case.

DUI and DWI in Oklahoma vs California