Oklahoma City DUI Laws – Will I Go to Jail?

Driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol is an incredibly risky and dangerous decision. If you find yourself getting caught and charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in Oklahoma City, you will have to face the consequences, which can include fines, a license suspension, and almost always, jail time.

First, though: what constitutes a DUI? As defined by the state of Oklahoma and many others across the United States, it means operating any motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. And as for the latter, it specifically means driving with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of 0.08% or higher. In Oklahoma, you can sometimes still be charged with a DUI if your BAC is between 0.05 and 0.08%, and commercial drivers can be charged if operating their vehicles with a 0.04% BAC or higher. Oklahoma is also a zero-tolerance state for underage drinking and driving, so any alcohol detected on the breath of a person under the age of 21 will guarantee them a DUI charge.

If you are committing your first offense in Oklahoma City, a DUI will run you anywhere from five to 365 days in jail, and up to $1,000 in fines and penalties. Your license will also be suspended for 30 days’ time. A second offense in Oklahoma City guarantees at least one year of jail time, with a maximum sentence of five years; up to $2,500 in fines, and a six-month license suspension. A third offense can bring you one to ten years of jail time, up to $5,000 in fines, and a one-year license suspension. For second and third-time offenders, the state of Oklahoma requires the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID), a breathalyzer attached to the dashboard of a vehicle that detects the driver’s BAC. If alcohol is detected, the IID will lock the car’s ignition and the engine will not start. This device is of course installed after the offender has served their time in jail and received their license back after the suspension period.

To navigate the murky waters of a DUI conviction, you should always call upon an experienced attorney to help you with your case. Having a lawyer on your side, especially in your first DUI case, could mean the difference between a week and a year in an Oklahoma City jail.

If you are looking for representation in your Oklahoma City DUI case, look no further than John Mac Hayes of The JMH Law Firm.

Oklahoma City DUI Laws – Will I Go to Jail?